Art of Writing Team

Ramona Naddaff, Director, Art of Writing
Ramona Naddaff is an associate professor of Rhetoric. Author of Exiling the Poets: The Production of Censorship in Plato's Republic, she works on literary censorship and ancient philosophy and literature. Naddaff is codirector and editor of Zone Books, New York.  

John Paulas, Director of Fellowships and Special Projects, Townsend Center
John Paulas oversees the implementation and program development of Art of Writing. After receiving his PhD in Classics, he taught at several institutions of higher education. He writes about Greek literature of the Roman Empire, ancient Mediterranean culinary practices, and literary and scientific discourse on food.

Irene Yoon, Program Coordinator, Art of Writing
Irene Yoon, received her PhD from UC Berkeley’s Department of English, where she currently teaches as a Berkeley Lecturer. She works closely with Art of Writing leadership and campus community on all aspects of the program. 

Laura Wagner, Coordinator, Art of Writing Departmental Tutoring Programs
Laura Wagner, a PhD candidate in UC Berkeley’s Department of Comparative Literature, oversees training, recruitment, and day-to-day operation of the Art of Writing Departmental Tutoring Programs in Comparative Literature, English, Rhetoric/Film & Media.

Faculty & Graduate Student Teams

Sharad Chari & Leonora ZoninseinGeography

Margaret Crawford & Alec Stewart, Architecture

Kathleen Donegan & Stephanie Moore, English

Paul Fine & Isaac Marck, Integrative Biology

Lyn Hejinian & Daniel Benjamin, English

David Henkin & J.T. Jamieson, History

Rosemary A. Joyce & Katherine Kinkopf, Anthropology

Michael Larkin, College Writing Program

Deborah Nolan & Sara Stoudt, Statistics

Michael Nylan & Nicholas ConstantinoHistory

Scott Andrew Saul & Ismail MuhammadEnglish

Susan Schweik & Samia RahimtoolaEnglish

Ryan Sloan, College Writing Program

Andrew M. Shanken & Desirée ValadaresArchitecture

Evan Variano & Kimberly Huynh, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Paula Varsano & David BrattEast Asian Languages & Cultures

Advisory Board

Mitchell Breitwieser, English

Deirdre English, Journalism

David M. Henkin, History

Glynda Hull, Education

Donald McQuade, English

Scott Andrew Saul, English

Candace Slater, Spanish & Portuguese

Mary Ann Smart, Music

Evan Variano, Environmental Engineering

Kim Voss, Sociology

Rebecca Egger, Townsend Center

Alan Tansman, East Asian Languages & Cultures